National Maritime Museum
The National Maritime Museum is part of the Maritime Greenwich World Heritage Site. Together with the Cutty Sark, The Queen’s House and the Royal Observatory, they are a group under the Royal Museums Greenwich.
In 1927 a public appeal was launched to develop a national naval and nautical museum, which results in the Museum’s opening in 1937. Sir James Caird’s generous donations jump-started the museum’s collection and established the venue. The Museum features many events for both children and adults. There are trails, art workshops, song-singing and storytelling, tours by costumed characters who tell stories of their exploits and lives in England and on ships…and much more.
Although the nearby Cutty Sark is not part of the museum and is subjected to an entry fee, it is the only preserved tea clipper in the world and is worth a visit for an experience of life on board this well-traveled vessel. The vessel displays relics of Lord Nelson, famous for his victory at the Battle of Trafalgar, including his actual uniform coat that he wore when he was fatally wounded. There are also collections on slavery and the British Empire.
Greenwich Park is also nearby and is excellent for a stroll if weather permits.
Entry is Free except for special exhibitions. The Museum opens daily from 10:00–17:00, closes on 24–26 December.
For an enhanced experience, travel to the museum by river.
You can get to the museum by travelling to Cutty Sark Station via the DLR.